Call me crazy but this is what went through my mind...
1) set a goal to run a 1/2 marathon (so I don't gain a million pounds)
2) tell my entire family and closest friends when and where I will be running
3) train for said marathon so I don't completely fail in front of said friends and family
Call me biased but this makes complete sense to me :) Next order of business... what 1/2 marathon did I want to run? The cool thing about living in the 'big city' or around other big cities is that there are a ton of different marathons to choose from. So I picked the OBX 1/2 Marathon. This wasn't just a random pick.... the Outer Banks happen to be my 2nd favorite place in the world (farm is 1st, always will be!). But the coolest thing about the 1/2 marathon course was at mile marker 3, it went right by our Grandmother's house. COOL BEANS! Of course I had to do it. So the date was set... November 13th, 2011.
*This was the mile marker in front of our grandmother's house (obviously it is the mile marker for the full marathon not the 1/2)... it was mile 3 for the 1/2 marathon.*
Next step... set up a training plan. I pretty much had the ultimate hookup when it came to setting up a training program. I was able to preform a VO2max test at my work (for free!) and from there I was able to develop a program specifically for me. Blah blah blah this is the boring part... BUT if anybody is interested in training for a half marathon I can help you (not only from an experience point of view but also from an educational point of view). I will probably post a blog on what I did specifically for training... so sit on the edge of your seats waiting for that one :)
Training turned out to be a little harder than expected. I guess I never thought about how much time I would have to put in on a DAILY basis. Starting out isn't too bad... running 3-4 miles doesn't take too much time, easy to plan for. Running 10 miles... this is something that you have to set time aside for, something you have to plan ahead for... not easy when you work 10 hour days. OH yeah and shin splints, they suck. I had them for about the last 2 months of training. Don't forget, I'm an athletic trainer. I know how to avoid shin splints and how to take care of them.... this only helped a little bit. To all my athletes out there... how in the world did you let me rub your shins as hard as I could for 5 minutes straight... you all a CrAzY! One word, PAIN!
**On a side note: I always iced my shins after running, this was a life saver. I would ice cup them when the pain was pretty bad and then let my husband rub them out. This would help with pain the following day.**
And the cherry on top (drum roll please).... I pulled my left hamstring 6 days before the race (I can thank my job for this). It was pretty intense, I couldn't walk without limping for the first 2 days. I almost thought I wouldn't be able to run in the race but then I convinced myself to make a game day decision. So for those 6 days I iced the crap out of my hammie, massaged it a couple times, and did some light stretching. Day before the race it felt 98% better... abracadabra! Thank you God :)
Race day came and race day went. And that was that.... just kidding! Did you really think I wouldn't go into detail!? We headed down to Nags Head, NC on Friday night, two days before the race. Most of Josh's family came down to support me, which was super awesome and it turned out to be a great weekend with family. Most of the weekend I just relaxed, focused on my game plan, drank LOTS of water, and tried to eat as healthy as possible.
*This was right before I started, the only picture from that morning until I finished!*
Morning of the race... I woke up at 5am (eek!) to eat my breakfast, which included a bagel with peanut butter/honey on it and at least 16 oz of water. Then at about 6am I ate a banana and just kept pushing the water. The closer it got to the race I slowed down on the water because I didn't want to have to pee 15 times throughout the race. Josh dropped me off at the start and I think I almost threw up. I was so nervous! I went pee and then stood in my corral and waited for go time. I got myself so worked up before the race that I had to talk myself down. I realized that I wasn't going to die and that if I couldn't finish I could just call Josh and tell him to pick me up. I think once I realized I wasn't in the Outback of Australia running from rabid kangaroos I was able to calm down a bit. So away I went. It was a beautiful 62 degree day with only a slight breeze... perfect conditions... perfect day! I stuck to my game plan and I finished. I not only finished, I finished strong! I wanted to get in under 2 hours and 30 minutes and my finish time was 2 hours and 22 minutes. YAHOO! 6 months of intense training paid off and it felt so good :)
The race was actually easier than I anticipated... which is totally awesome! I think it helped that I went in with a plan and stuck to it, I stopped at every water station (which was every two miles) and grabbed water/walked for a little bit (usually for about 1 min). I also took Gatorade at the stations that offered it... it was the only form of carbohydrate that I had throughout the race and it worked out very well for me.
*These turned out to be some of the only pictures that Josh was able to get on race day*
**Funny story about the pictures: Josh was 100% prepared for me to run by Marilyn's house. He was tracking me on my Iphone, he knew the approximate time I would be getting there, and he knew what I was wearing...... when I started the race. I had on a bright green long sleeve shirt when he dropped me off at the starting line. I told him I would probably take it off at Marilyn's b/c by that time I would be warmed up (it was just a little chilly in the morning). When I got to mile 2 I grab some water and decided to take off the long sleeve while I was walking. So as I am running up to Marilyn's house, listening to my family cheer on everyone, I am trying to get their attention (I could tell that they couldn't see me). It wasn't until I was right by the house screaming "Josh" until they noticed I was there. They cheered me on and hollered for me but no pictures. When Josh, Lynn, and Jimmy were driving to the finish line they drove past me. This was at mile 8, right before you ran up a bridge with a 4% incline and it was the last bathroom break. I stopped. I had a gatorade in one hand and a water in the other. I hear "APRIL!" from the road... there goes Josh and his parents, cheering me on... photo op #2 gone! Oh well... Josh and his parents were waiting at the finish line for me and that is all that matters :)
All in all, it was a great experience. So great in fact race #2 is coming up... Shamrock 2012 here WE come (yes we, as in Josh and I)!










