5.20.2012

#57... The ever feared, CSCS

I have to admit... this one royally sucked. Here is the step by step explanation of why I never want to take this test again...

  1. Moved from being a 'rehab tech' to a 'sports performance coach' at my lovely place of employment. THIS was awesome opportunity and a huge learning experience.
  2. Pressured from said job to take the CSCS (they wanted all the sports performance coaches to have that credential).
  3. Studied like I was back in college... for a month. **Note... I didn't have great study habits in college and it takes longer than one month to study for the CSCS!
  4. First attempt at the CSCS... FAILED. By one. freaking. point. OUCH. I almost threw up. This was a little after getting my letter from ODU saying I wasn't accepted. Talk about a blow to the ole' self esteem. The worse part about failing was knowing I would have to take it again... it was horribly hard :(
  5. Didn't think about the test again for a long, long time. If it didn't exist, it means it didn't actually happen... right?? **This is what I like to call denial**
  6. Got accepted into the PT program at ODU (happy dance) and decided I wanted to get my CSCS before I started school.
  7. Studied like a more mature college student, over a course of 3 months. **This my friends, is a much better approach!
  8. April 18, 2012 is a day that I will never forget... I let the CSCS know who's the boss. I can describe it in one word, domination. **Okay, maybe it wasn't domination b/c the entire time I was taking the test I was sure I was failing BUT I still passed :):):)
Ah yeah... feels good! 
April Johnson, ATC CSCS YFS1

I am so happy I didn't give up after the first attempt. Someone asked me why I was taking it again after being accepted into PT school. My answer... "Because I can." I am so blessed that God has instilled a quiet confidence within me and that I use it. I know that I can do anything, I just have to care enough to try

5.19.2012

#72... Trials, tribulations, and triumph!

#72 is a big one... a life changing one... and one that makes me SOOO incredibly happy. 

PT SCHOOL!

Still to this day I can't fully wrap my brain around it. It has been such a long drawn out process for me that I can hardly believe the day actually came. So for you to understand why this is such a big deal for me, we must go back to the beginning (of what seemed to be a never ending battle...).

After I graduated college, I had no idea what I wanted to do with my degree. I KNEW that I didn't want to work as an athletic training working ridiculous hours and dealing with snotty kids. That's pretty much all I knew. Great start, right? 

So when I moved to Virginia Beach I pretty much looked for any job in the healthcare realm. I ended up landing a job at InMotion Physical Therapy and Sports Performance and I have been here ever since. To say that InMotion changed my life would be a bit of an understatement. Not only have I found life long friends here but it has given me a sense of direction and purpose. When I started learning more about the world of physical therapy and I realized how much I enjoyed it. So starting back towards the end of 2009 I decided I wanted to be a physical therapist. 

To even begin the process I had to take a few classes that I didn't take in my undergrad. Only the three worst classes known to mankind... Physics I, Physics II, and Statistics. Ewww! So I got those out of the way. 
**And just a side note... if you are feeling really good about yourself and think you know it all, maybe feeling a little too cocky, try taking Physics I at ODU from a guy named Charles Hyde. He will make you feel like you know ABSOLUTELY nothing... brings you down a few notches, brings you back down to earth. Good stuff.**

So I took those horrible, wretched classes (only thing I learned is that I am NOT a physics gal!) and began the process of applying to physical therapy school. In order to apply to ODU's program I had to apply through a 'centralized' website called PTCAS. Just typing PTCAS gives me goosebumps and makes me want to vomit a little. What a horrible website. You have to input all of your information into this website, send them all of your transcripts, write your essay, and they in turn send all your information to the schools of your choice. Sounds like a great idea... but in actuality it was horrible! I had to set time aside to 'work' on PTCAS. Because not only did you have to send ALL your transcripts to them, you had to input each and every class you ever took and all the information that goes with it. When did you take it, what grade did you get, what was the exact name of the class, how many credits was it worth... for EVERY single class I had taken in my FOUR years of college. Very time consuming. Anyway... I will move on from how much I loathed that process :) 

TRIALS:
After I finished everything on PTCAS, I submitted my application and waited... and waited... and waited some more. I submitted my application the FIRST time back in October of 2010, so I would start classes in the summer of 2011. And this is where things went HORRIBLY wrong. As I was patiently waiting for my application to be sent to ODU, the day that the selection committee started looking at applications was rapidly approaching. But wonderful PTCAS said my application was still 'pending'. Now, I was still taking my last class of physics so I thought that PTCAS was waiting on my transcript from ODU stating that I indeed did take physics. As the end of December rolled around though, I started to panic that it hadn't been sent yet. So I emailed the director of the physical therapy program to let her know what was going on. She promptly emailed me back stating that PTCAS was actually waiting for my transcript of SDSU. This is what went through my brain... WHAT!?!?!?!?! I KNOW for a 100% fact that SDSU sent my transcripts and that PTCAS got them b/c I got a confirmation email from them stating that they had received them (had I known how important that email would have been, I would have saved it... but at the time it really meant nothing so I deleted it, never finding it again!).

I contacted SDSU to let them know the situation and they said it would be no problem to send them again, overnight, free of charge (see this is the wonderful thing about South Dakota... people are POLITE!). So it was the waiting game again b/c PTCAS claims that it can take 4-6 weeks to process transcripts. Whatever... so I waited, and waited and waited. Until I couldn't take it anymore and I called PTCAS. I spoke to a gentlemen (which oddly enough, was the same person I spoke to every time I called there, which was about 7 times) and explained what was going on and he told me to wait another week. At this point my head was about to explode! We are already into February which means that ODU has already accepted their first round of students... they didn't even have my application yet. So I waited... until one day I was standing in my bathroom doing my hair (I will never forget it because it was so momentous) and it dawned on me... I have a different last name than when I was at SDSU. This is where I have to add that the application for PTCAS had no place for a maiden name or social security number... so really no way of connecting your 'old' self with your 'new' self... isn't that just fantastic. So I called PTCAS and got the same guy I had spoken to before, explained the situation and right before I was about to explain I had a different last name he cut me off and told me that I needed to wait because it takes this long for them to process transcripts... blah blah blah. All I know is that I turned into the Hulk and pretty much set this man straight. Oh yeah, and the instant I told him my maiden name, he was able to find my transcripts... how incredible is that! 

Tribulations:
By the time PTCAS had finally sent my application to ODU it was too late. They had already accepted their class of 40 students. I got a letter in the mail regretting to inform me of their decision and so on. I was placed on the waiting list (which is much better than get a straight up 'no') but my chances were grim. Man... talk about the worst day ever. Up to this point I had always excelled and was always accepted. I have two words that summed up that time of my life... it sucked. Plan and simple. I didn't really know what I wanted to do next. Do I reapply or chose a different path? I knew one thing for sure... I was going to send PTCAS a letter letting them know that their system is SCREWED up :)

Triumph:
Obviously I reapplied. I pretty much dominated PTCAS and knew exactly what to expect. Oh and I think the letter that I sent paid off... there were several changes made to the website (maiden name and s.s. #) and the informational emails they sent out were much more helpful. So I applied at the end of October and waited. I tried to put it outside of my mind and just not think about it... I put it in God's hands and just let him take care of it. That is what got me through, I was relaxed and at peace. I knew that whatever happened was suppose to happen. I will never forget the day. My Mama was in town visiting. I was laying on the couch just about to fall asleep, Ma was reading. My phone rang and I didn't know know the number... I almost didn't answer it. Boy am I glad that I did! Pretty much the best phone call ever :) But the best part of it all... my Mom was there to see it. Never have I seen her so proud. That moment... that moment was worth everything. 

Through the trials and tribulations I found triumph. It makes it worth the fight. As cheesy as it sounds, I learned to never give up on my dreams... if I care enough to push through all the crap and just have faith, anything is possible. I thank God for this opportunity and look forward to this journey. 

**Shout out to all the people that encouraged me through this process and helped me along the way. A HUGE shout out to my husband... he never ever for one second doubted that I would get into school.**

1.21.2012

Things They Don't Tell You... 1/2 Marathon Edition

As I was training for my first 1/2 marathon I quickly realized that the internet is LOADED with tons of tips on how to properly prepare for a marathon... what to eat, how far to run, what to drink. But there is little to no information out there about the unpleasant side of training or tips on making things easier. So I decided to make a list of my own. A list of things that I learned over my months of training. A list that I hope makes it easier for the next person. 

1. Lube Up: That's right. Lube is good. Trust me. I learned this the hard way. It was my first long run (7 miles) and I had about 1/2 mile left. That's when the pain set in... thanks to the shorts I was wearing. By the time I got home I was almost in tears because the shorts were rubbing so badly on my thighs. That's when I learned about 'Body Glide'. It looks like a stick of deodorant but it's more like a tube of magic. Rub this stuff on the spots that tend to rub (thighs, under bra, feet) and no more chafing my friends!


2. Cut Your Nails: Sounds a little weird but you want to keep your nails clipped... especially your toenails. On longer runs you will notice the littlest of things... one being your toenails rubbing on your socks/shoes. NOT comfortable (especially for me b/c I am SUPER OCD about the way my socks lay within my shoes, how tight the shoelaces are tied, if the shoelaces bounce too much against the outside of my shoe... okay I think you get the picture, I'm slightly crazy). So keep them clipped and clip them on race day! Oh and your fingernails. If you tend to clench your hands when you run, I suggest clipping them on race day. Keeping your hands clenched with your nails digging into your palms for over 2 hours is not the ideal situation (trust me, your hands might not forgive you!).


3. Train in the Clothes Your Going to Run In: This one seems super obvious to me but I am always surprised when I get to the starting line on race day and girls are dressed to the '9' in the brand new outfits. One word... DUMB! Truth is, 1/2 of those girls probably ended the races with massive blisters and chafing galore. You need to wear something that has been broken in and has proved to you that it won't cause you any harm. I looked so ratty and dirty on race day but I didn't care... I could trust my clothes :) The story about my shorts rubbing my thighs... that was a new pair of shorts that I had never wore on a long run. BIG mistake... HUGE (movie line... anyone?). They betrayed me and made me suffer. Lesson learned. Wear what you know. Period. 


4. Support Systems Matters: This is a big one. If I wouldn't of had Josh cheering me on through my training, I don't think I would have been so successful. He was always so supportive and uplifting. He made sure I stuck to my plan even when I didn't want to. He was so proud of me and excited for me... it made training so much more enjoyable knowing that I had a husband that was 100% behind me. Race day was so much more invigorating knowing that Josh and his family were cheering me on. I know it sounds all mushy and stuff but this is what mattered in the end. I had people to celebrate my victory with.... I don't know what it would of been like to cross the finish line with no one waiting there for me. So involve your people in the process. If you don't have people, find people.


5. Interval Training... It's the Secret: Seriously... add interval training into your program. It made a WORLD of difference for me. At the beginning of my training, I struggled running one mile (one stinking mile!). After awhile, I started doing intervals. After two days of intervals I went and ran a mile... it was the EASIEST mile I had ever ran. So from there on out I ran intervals 2-3 week. To be honest, the furthest I ran in my training was just over 8 miles... that is 5.1 miles less than what I ran on race day. A lot of people thought I was crazy but I knew I could do it. The interval training paid off and turned me into a much more efficient long distance runner.


6. Make it Priority: Life gets in the way. It happens to everyone no matter what the task is at hand. I found out during my training how hard it was to plan on running without something else coming up. After about a 1 1/2 months of struggling with a training plan I had to re-evaluate my priorities. This was no easy task because come on, we all know I would MUCH rather go to Skinny Dip with friends and pig out than go and run 6 miles. So I had to make my training a priority. When I had plans to run 6 miles that evening, I did it... no matter what else came up... those plans had to wait for me to be done. It wasn't easy but it was possible. 


7. Chapstick Fixes Everything: What's the worst combination of 'ailments' when running... chapped lips and dry mouth. Trust me when I say this, it is SO awful that when it happens it is all consuming, it is all you can focus on. You lick your lips and feel relief for about 5 seconds and then BAM... the burning returns only 10 times worse! This use to happen to me alllll the time when I would run. In fact, my lips hurt so bad once during a summer run that I nearly stopped at a complete strangers house to ask for a glass of water... or I have even contemplated running up to someone's sprinkler just for some relief from the burning. So to save me from humiliation I starting taking chapstick with me on my runs. Most running short have a little built in pocket on the inside of them... perfect size for a tube of chapstick. I don't run without it now... and it's one less thing I have to worry about. 

8. The Expo = Overwhelming: I had never been to an expo before so I had no idea what to expect. So when I walked in I was a little taken aback. There are people... everywhere. Stuff everywhere. It was intense! All I needed was to pick up my packet and I found myself surrounded by hundreds of people and hundreds of stands... not knowing where to go. Here is a little tip if it is your first Expo... they typical post the bib numbers right in the front of the Expo. You have to find your name on the list to get your bib number then go to the packet pickup station where they have things organized numerically by bib number. Simple as that.

9. Pray... Then Pray Some More: I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Phil 4:13... This is the bible verse that I said over and over and over and over. I am not a natural born runner (at least I don't think I am... I guess I never thought that I actually might be). I struggle every time I go running. But I pray. I talk to God. It takes my mind off the 'pain' I am in and helps me push on. This is what gave me the strength to train for 5 months and to run 13.1 miles. I know that had it not been for my constant prayer, there is no way I would have finished the race. So a big thanks to the Big Man upstairs.


There you have it. The list of things that had I known before I started this whole process I wouldn't have felt like such a nincompoop. Hopefully these tips can help you. If there is anything that anyone has a question about, please ask. I'm not an expert... but I have my experiences!


1.02.2012

HaPpY nEw YeAr

Be better
than you were
yesterday.

Period. No resolutions. No goals. Just be better than you were yesterday.

As this new year rolls in I can't help but notice how incredibly blessed I am. I don't say this to brag (b/c people who do that annoy the crap out of me), I just have to say it because I am utterly amazed at how great the last couple years of my life have been. So I just want to reflect on the past year and just give thanks to the Big Man upstairs... because really life is meaningless without him. So here is to the new year and all that it brings. May it be better than the last… because you tried.

What this last year looked like in the Johnson household (good & bad):
· I took home the championship trophy for fantasy football (didn’t even make the playoffs this year!)
· My family welcomed Jaxon Joseph Genovese into the world
· I passed physics with an A J
· I did not get accepted into PT school (ouch!)
· I did get a promotion at work (everything happens for a reason…)
· I turned 24 and Josh turned 29… next birthdays are big ones for the both of us!
· Josh became the Youth Minister at our church (whoop whoop!)
· I was introduced to the world of Pinterest (thanks Ashley!)
· Two words… wiffle ball. Epic story…someday you might hear it but it taught me that my husband ALWAYS has my back
· I had to educate Virginians about May Day traditions… come on people, who doesn’t know what May Day is!?
· Josh and I took a trip of to CT to visit my Grandpa... which was awesome sauce
· Watched my mom through the ‘interweb’ fight cancer. She is amazing and pretty much gave cancer a roundhouse kick to the face
· Josh and I moved into our first “home”… still renting but at least we are not in an apartment!
· Went on my first missions trip and gained new perspective
· Celebrated 2 years with my wonderful husband (and it just keeps getting better… how corny does that sound! But it’s true)
· Learned I could go an entire month without sweets
· Trained for and ran my first ½ marathon
· Josh and I spent Thanksgiving with my family at the farm… he quickly learned why the farm is one of my favorite places in the world
· Talked to my father for the first time in 14 years
· Christmas 2011 has to go down as the best Christmas ever (hopefully more on that later!)


HaPpY nEw YeAr!